• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Q&A Medicare on the CPC exam

jane

Blitzer
Hello,

I am a blitz student. I am enrolled in an online review course. I just finished the digestive system today. On the chapter test, the was a medicare related question regarding colonoscopy screenings and there was a G code (HCPCS code) listed first in the correct answer, followed by ICD-9. I got it wrong because I missed that this was a medicare patient. Are there going to be questions like this on the exam? If medicare is going to be on the CPC exam what information should I be studying?

Thanks so much,
Jane

Laureen

Queen Instructor
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
Yes there are questions like that on the exam.

louise

CCO Practicoder
It's easy to assume that HCPCS and CPT are separate things. Actually, what we call CPT, is really just the first volume of HCPCS. What we think of as HCPCS most of the time is really just the second volume of HCPCS.

HCPCS Level I codes, what we know so well as CPT, are governed by the AMA (American Medical Administration). CMS has created HCPCS Level II codes and have directed that they be used for all Medicare billings when applicable (that is...when a HCPCS Level II code exists that is directly comparable to a CPT code). So, in general, for Medicare claims, if you find both a CPT and a HCPCS Level II code that both describe the same service or procedure, chose the HCPCS code. For other payers, check with their specific guidelines. There are exceptions to these rules; each section of HCPCS Level II has it's uses.

For example, Medicare would prefer you use Go436 for this service: